$5 Dollar Beauty Box!

I may be a poor college student, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to experience the pure joy of getting an Ipsy or Birchbox package at my doorstep. It may seem like a frivolous way to spend your money, but what if I told you about a box that comes four times a year, is filled with beauty goodies, and is only $5?! Well, that would be the Walmart beauty box! I received my first one last week. Walmart must really understand us budget savvy divas because the box is actually free, and the $5 is just a shipping and handling fee. And let me tell you, I got my $5 worth and more. The only downside that I have experienced with this box is how long it took to be delivered. The website claimed it would be at my door within 5-7 days and it actually took two, almost three weeks to arrive. Here are pictures and reviews of what I got!

IMG_0684

Simple Micellar Cleansing Water sample and coupon- I opened up the sample thinking I would actually get to try the simple makeup remover I had been hearing about. I don’t know if this product works, because I got a pre made cotton round the size of my finger nail doused in the product. Half way through I had to grab a makeup wipe because I barely got off a fourth of my makeup. Of course I got a $2.00 off coupon, but I was so peeved at the chintzy sample that I refuse to buy this.

vaseline lotion

Vaseline Lotion- I was stunned to pull out a HUGE, full size Vaseline lotion. This was the cocoa butter scent and the consistency of the lotion is perfect because it is light enough for summer, but still very moisturizing. The only flaw is the smell. The yellow bottle I previously purchased was the same way. I don’t think there is supposed to be a scent other than a light cocoa butter, but it was strong for me and not in a good way. Luckily, the smell goes away pretty quickly. In the end, I would recommend this product because the formula is very moisturizing.

neutrogena

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Boosters Face Wash- I received a travel size bottle of this new cleanser. Of course, it happens to be one of the few things I didn’t receive a coupon for. However, I will be buying the full size of this product because it was perfect. It smelled great and wasn’t too strong and lathered well on my skin. When I washed it off, my skin was left feeling clean and refreshed. The next morning I woke up and some of my acne had disappeared and my entire face was noticeably softer. I have very dry, sensitive skin so this product is a dream.

perfume

One Direction Perfume mini spray bottle- I was so excited to get a new perfume to try…that is until I smelled it. I cringed and couldn’t even bring myself to try it on my skin because it is awful. The label indicates it has a fruity scent mixed with a light musk, but there is nothing light about that musk scent.

sunscreen

Aveno Sun Screen and Coupon- I feel that this sunscreen is kind of like a present as a kid on Christmas Day. When you open a present and see that it is full of clothes instead of toys. It technically is useful, but toys would have been more fun. Sunscreen is useful, but I would have rather gotten a sample nail polish or lipstick to try. However, I thought this was a great sunscreen and I put it on my face under my foundation because my Covergirl ready set gorgeous didn’t have any SPF. This sunscreen did its job perfectly and I tested it by laying out in the hot summer sun. The best part was when I woke up the next day, I wasn’t broken out! So if you are looking for a sunscreen for sensitive skin this is it!

lipstick

Rimmel Lip Laquer- I have mixed emotions about this product. From the packaging I assumed it was mascara, but it is actually a lip gloss. It comes with a doe-foot applicator, which was an added bonus. The color looked like a beautiful, unique pink. When I put it on it was actually red, which I still liked, but was not expecting. The real down side to this product is that it doesn’t last long at all. The red lasted for an hour and then it faded to a nude pink. When I first applied the gloss it felt moisturizing, however, after it faded my lips felt extremely dry. I will continue to use my full sized tube, but I doubt I will try another Rimmel gloss after this.

All in all, it was so fun to try all of these products and made me feel like a makeup and skincare professional, so I love all of the things I got for $5! This is definitely a win for Walmart!

3 thoughts on “$5 Dollar Beauty Box!

Leave a Reply

